Posted by: Monideepa Tarafdar | July 4, 2010

Futility?

He to she and she to he, “I love you, will you marry me?” and “Yes, oh yes!”

Then, “She looks just like you, my darling” and a few years later, “Did you pay the phone bill and drop off Sarah at soccer?”

Then, “She’s decided to go to Brown” and eventually, “she met someone – he is coming down for Thanksgiving.”

Then, “She hardly calls nowadays, our grandkids keep them busy” and some years later “after all, it’s a new world, do you think we fit in?”

Still more years later, “How did we get this frail? Did you take that medicine?”

Finally, “If I go first, make sure you eat properly, I suppose you will be able to get along fine without me?”, and “I don’t know”.

Leave a Reply

Categories

